PDA

View Full Version : How do you pay yourself?

Hannibal
11-16-2005, 04:56 AM
This question is to the "pros"...how do you pay yourself? Do you have a system, where you put a certain amount into the bank ever week whether you are thin or flush? Do you put more in when you are running well, or less in when you are not? Just curious.

I am not going to get into the whole "who's a pro, and who isn't" discussion. I have been at this for almost a year and I am not looking for a job...so thats good enough for me. Just wondering how others, whose main source of income is poker, pay themselves.

GoblinMason (Craig)
11-16-2005, 05:22 AM
I'm just a college student and not a pro...but I take 1k out whenever my checking account gets below 1k. I probably don't spend as much when I'm running bad though.

-Craig

11-16-2005, 06:01 AM
If I'm correct to interpret your question as "how do I determine how much to pay myself from my poker winnings?", then the answer is fairly simple. However, keep in mind that I think I may be conservative re: this subject.

Basically, I keep ~1000 big bets for a bankroll. This is money that I can never really spend or pay myself -- it's the "just in case things go to hell" cash that keeps me staked. Additionally, I keep three months worth of budgeted expenses on hand -- this number also remains constant.

Next, at the end of each month, I look at my PT results for that month, and set aside 25% for taxes and 5% for my IRA (until the annual maximum is reached, of course).

Then, depending on how quickly I want to move to the next limit, I take the remaining cash and either save it for a trip/item/x-mas etc, or add it to my bankroll. I also take some (although not as much as I should...) and save in the stock market.

Obviously, it doesn't work out that perfectly every month, but I do attempt to keep my cash flow statement ultra-positive.

stigmata
11-16-2005, 07:16 AM
That sounds like a pretty intelligent approach zirri.