PDA

View Full Version : I need a job / Place to stay

tomdemaine
11-15-2005, 11:37 PM
This is probably the dumbest thing I've posted in a while, but why not use all methods of searching available. I'm a UK student who is looking to come to America when I graduate next year to work and travel. I'm not sure whether to set it up through a pre-existing scheme (like BUNAC) or just get my papers and go. This post is a testing ground for the second option. I've no real plan of action but I'm thinking I'll stick to the major cities where hostels and internet access will be easier to find, (I hope to play a certain online games with cards or somesuch for extra cash) but I'd like to experience the other aspects of America too. Has anyone here done it? Any advice planning etc. or is anyone here looking for a roomate/employee for a month.

I posted here because this forum is my major contact with american folk and I think that a lot of the people here would be cool to hang out with, young, know how to have a good time etc.

So advice info ofers would be greatly appreciated,
Thanks

TheMainEvent
11-15-2005, 11:41 PM
I don't have much help for you but you should know that there aren't nearly as many hostels as in europe and canada and in general it's more difficult to travel cheap here. Just don't want you to have the wrong idea.

tomdemaine
11-15-2005, 11:46 PM
Really? OK thanks. I travelled around Europe for a year on an inter-rail card a couple of years ago and had no trouble finding places to stay cheap without planning ahead. Is it mearly harder to find or impossible to find? I'm thinking I may be better off hiring/buying a cheap trailer house thing then I wouldn't be limited to the big cities and things would definatly be cheaper. Like I say I'm still unsure and trying to think these things through.

fnord_too
11-16-2005, 12:00 AM
[ QUOTE ]