PDA

View Full Version : Investment question

Goodnews
11-15-2005, 04:30 PM
I have grinded enough winnings to want to invest. I am currently a student and will rack up about 30k of student debt in roughly two years after I graduate. Right now there is no interest on my student loans (as long as I am a full time student).

Of this 30k, roughly 18k is left for me to invest. What should I be looking for in terms of investments with this money? Please note that my first priority is to pay this laon off asap, and I can generate my tuition and book money over the course of the year, so its not like I need it now.

note that my risk tolerance is on the lower side of moderate.

adios
11-15-2005, 05:03 PM
I notice you're from Canada but I doubt if the following advice would make a difference though. I would stay in something like 1 month CDs as surprising as that may seem. The Fed is tightening and short term interest rates will continue to rise. I saw in todays WSJ that you can get something like 4.05% on 1 month CDs. Might have to shop around a little to get it. But what I'm thinking is that as short term rates rise just go along with it. Given your time horizon and risk tolerance (at least what I perceive them to be) I wouldn't go near stocks or longer duration bonds. Why even go out 2 years when short term interest rates are on the rise?

buffett
11-15-2005, 07:05 PM
what adios said

Goodnews
11-16-2005, 01:04 PM
please explain the CDs and such as I am interested in how to obtain them. sorry if i am asking you to hold my hand but I really don't want to pay a 'tuition' in these matters (like i did with poker).

DesertCat
11-16-2005, 02:06 PM
[ QUOTE ]
please explain the CDs and such as I am interested in how to obtain them. sorry if i am asking you to hold my hand but I really don't want to pay a 'tuition' in these matters (like i did with poker).

[/ QUOTE ]