PDA

View Full Version : Standard Deviation of Bank Roll

PuppetMaster
06-23-2003, 01:27 PM
First off, I would like to introduce myself to the people on the forums. I am a long time reader, 11 time poster.

I just started playing hold'em online about 2 monthes ago. I play mostly tournaments. I also wager on sports. One thing I have noticed is that the standard deviation of my bankroll is fairly large in consideration to the size of my bankroll. I will often place in the money in 8 of 10 tournaments, and then precede to lose 4 in a row.

I am curious if this is normal, or an indication that I "go on tilt" or change my style when I am losing or winning. Is it just a matter of coincidence? I would love to hear opinions on this matter.

Copernicus
06-23-2003, 02:24 PM
Do you really mean the standard deviation of your bankroll? I'm not sure thats a meaningful number. Two players with the same bankroll and the same return in terms of % of the tourney buy in will have different bankroll-based SD's if they play at different stakes. I would look at SD's of your profit and loss as a % of the buy-in (i.e the SD of your return on investment). In my experience that should be fairly stable, especially compared to ring game SD's of BB's/hour. A run of 8/10 in the money followed up by 4 straight outs is not all that surprising if your average result is that of what I would consider a good one table tourney player, which is 15-20% ROI.

If you are the teddykgbxxx (but a different number than here, I forget the right one) that has been in a lot of $30 and $50's at party recently, my notes on you rate your play as very solid except in one particular situation, and I am cautious against your large bets. (You wont recognize my name here, because it is not my online name). If I remember right you finished in the money when I finished 2d in a tourney where I was down to T70 and got a phenomenal run of hands.