PDA

View Full Version : OT Help me with my downswing

golfcchs
11-08-2005, 10:48 PM
Well I have been playing poker online for about 4 months now with some pretty good success, which is 100% due to this forum. But have recently hit some rocky times. About 2 months ago I started playing Party Poker and began keeping stats with poker tracker for the first time. My first 345 22’s I ran very, but have hit some rocky times since then.

My, all be it short, carreer at the 22's:

345 sng's 36.68% ROI ITM 38.16% 18.26% 1st, 13.62% 2nd, 9.28% 3rd.

281 sng's -1.65 ROI, ITM 33.81% 9.96% 1st, 10.68% 2nd, 13.17 3rd.

I realize that my first 345 I was probably running hot and was experiencing an unsustainable RIO. I also realize I am now experiencing some bad variance. But I have to wonder if I could have developed some leaks in my game that I did not have earlier. For instance I have tightened up more in the first 3 levels. In my first 345 I had a pre flop raise of 4.7% level 1, 6.8% level 2, and 11.4 % level 3, Compared to my last 281 with 3.4% level 1, 4.4% level 2, and 8.9% level 3. Over all I have gone from an average pre flop raise of 16.1% to 12.8%.

I don’t know if anyone can help me interpret these changes, or I just have to chalk it up to variance. But I feel like I have to do something to try to improve besides blaming bad luck.

Thanks in advance for the help.

jedinite
11-08-2005, 10:54 PM
what are your total stats?

From here, looks like regression to the mean. Like you said, you were running hot before and this is a correction. Need to see your total stats to have a slightly clearer picture, but from 50k' that's my guess. I.e. your stats are now headed towards a more sustainable ROI.

Of course regardless blah blah small sample size blah blah just variance blah blah.

golfcchs
11-08-2005, 10:58 PM
Thanks for the reply. I have 626 22's at 19.45% ROI.