PDA

View Full Version : To raise or not to raise

11-08-2005, 09:34 PM
Im new to PLO hi and have begun playing small stakes rooms online. I have a history as an aggressive HE player but since playing Omaha have felt that aggressive preflop raising is somewhat misguided at these really low limits. But I see it a lot and am wondering if I should incorporate it into my game. I tend to be passive preflop and aggressive if I've hit post flop. I realize that most people on this site are much higher limit players but Id appreciate the advice and am looking to improve.

beset7
11-09-2005, 01:38 AM
preflop raising in general is a very big topic. You'll raise for many reasons. 1st of all, just like in HE, you like to build pots with strong hands. Also, in middle position you may want to raise some slightly weaker holdings in hopes of buying the button if you have tight players to your left. Also, you'll want to build pots with just about anything playable from the CO/button, etc. And so on and and son. The best solution is to post some hands where you raise preflop.

b7

11-09-2005, 02:08 AM
In the zany low-limit games pre-flop raising should be done primarily to build pot with good hands in position. There are many ways to go, such as potting it, min-raising, 2BB, 3BB. All have there supporters. I am a fan of 3BB myself. If you are going to raise, you should be doing it with a decent range of hands and not just A-A-x-x or K-K-x-x.

Especially in the low-limit games, most pre-flop raises will be called in several places. Don't ever expect the field to fold to a pre-flop raise.

11-09-2005, 03:43 AM
Thanks. I guess my biggest problem is that I keep thinking that raising to improve the pot rarely seems to help me. To my thinking, it only improves some players pot odds to keep calling. A-A-x-x seems very marginal to me and rarely holds up, and Ive only been raising with the very best hands. I'll try posting some hands and see what you guys think. Thanks again.

Unabridged