PDA

View Full Version : I am a programmer without a compiler, and a sh-tty one at that.

DavidC
11-08-2005, 07:27 PM
I like programming. I've used VB, java, perl, QBASIC (woot!), and that's about it.

However, my linux box is down, and I like the flexibility of programming using javascript, considering that windows seems to run it just fine with minimal effort on my part.

----------

So I'd like to know a few things about javascript programming.

1) Can they output to text files. *

2) Can they output to HTML files. *

3) How do I make arrays?

4) How do I gather user input and make a WHILE loop?

* easily, hopefully.

----------------------------------------------

link (http://www.pageresource.com/jscript/jarray.htm)

The following shows some code with the alert and prompt statements, which is part of what I need. It also shows a function (though no function variables are used), and a for loop. It shows arrays being used.

So basically, I need to know the while loop and how to export to text.

This shows a while loop (http://www.w3schools.com/js/tryit.asp?filename=tryjs_while)

---

Alright... so basically everything's been answered except the "how to output to text and html" thing... If I could get that, I'd be pretty happy. /images/graemlins/smile.gif

---

Edit:

function with an argument (http://www.w3schools.com/js/tryit.asp?filename=tryjs_while)

RatFink
11-08-2005, 08:46 PM
The javascript can produce text output as in:

document.write('hello world');

to make text into HTML just use HTML commands:

document.write('<h1>Hello World<h1>');

Not sure how you run your javascripts, but if you run them in your browser the output can be saved with a view-source save command. Or from a command line you can use the > operator after a command and give it a file to write the output to like: runme > output.txt

StevieG
11-08-2005, 09:27 PM
Out of curiosity, what did you find difficult about using Perl on Windows?