PDA

View Full Version : Collection Agencies

Cunning Linguist
11-08-2005, 04:36 PM
So I have a collection agency after me for $1500 from an unpaid credit card. Long story cut very short, I accumulated that debt living on my own in my first year of university (debauchery-fest). I had to move back home with my parents after the year was up.

Anyways, I'm still a student and I'm still broke. I can't pay them.
I have no possessions whatsoever.. nothing to repossess except possibly the shirt off my back and a few pairs of boxers.

How do I deal with these people? Anybody have any experience or advice?
(I'll try to make up with this lame thread with a good one later.)

pokerdirty
11-08-2005, 04:42 PM
$1500 on red

and don't tip the spinner

Brom
11-08-2005, 04:45 PM
Whatever you do, don't get a job. You let them win if you have to work.

Reef
11-08-2005, 04:46 PM
learn p***r?

MrTrik
11-08-2005, 04:48 PM
You're gonna take a hit on this credit-wize. Talk to them and be cooperative. You aren't in a position to declare bankrupsy so you WILL be paying them back at some point ... with interest and penalties.

Learn from your mistake and move on after you've made good.

Reef
11-08-2005, 04:50 PM
[ QUOTE ]
You're gonna take a hit on this credit-wize.

[/ QUOTE ]

good luck getting any kind of loan in the future.. You may also have a difficult time getting a good job. ugh

4_2_it
11-08-2005, 04:51 PM
If they have found you, try to work out a payment plan. They get paid a % of what they extract out of you. make sure any program that you agree to will totally wipe out this debt on a going forward basis. For instance, don't agree to pay $1,000 without a full discharge because you will have another agency coming after you for the remainder later on.

Hope you don't plan to buy a house or other big ticket item in the next five years because your credit report will suck. You will still get a loan but at a rate much higher than people with good credit receive.