PDA

View Full Version : Not going so well....

11-07-2005, 03:49 PM
Recently, I've been playing alot of the $100 NL tables and I feel I was doing pretty well at them over the last month and a half or so. I have won $1000 already which I have already cashed out and started working on a new buy in account, started at $160 and built it to 1050 in a week. My problem here is now that after winning almost 900 this past week, I've really enjoyed watching the high limit tables, so I figured I'd give it a try. The first night I started playing at 1/2 limit and I was doing pretty well for the time being. The next day I did a little 2/4 and in the first 20 or 30 minutes I had won just as much as I could in about an hour or 2 on the NL tables. But ever since then, I've hit a totally dry spell and it just seems that everytime I got a big pair and I'm raising it up, NO ONE sesms to fold and I end up getting suckedout to a 2 pair on the river or something.
I really want to continue playing limit but of the 1050 I had on my account, I'm now down to about $500 of what I haven't cashed out before (I still do have a $1000 check in the mail which I don't plan on using). Can someone please give me suggestions of how to make good use of my last $500 playing limit (if possible). I still enjoy playing No limit cash games, but I want to prove to myself that I can win playing limit, can someone please offer me some tips as to what to watch out for or some beginner rules that I should try to abide by playing with a few hundred?

Any help is appreciated,
The Bomber

11-07-2005, 03:55 PM
Welcome!

Read the sticky at the top of this forum.

Buy a copy of Small Stakes Hold'em.

You'll learn that you don't want those people to fold, and that "sucking out" at limit is frequently profitable (therefore you have to do it too, when the conditions are right).

EDIT: re: bankroll - your roll is currently more suited to playing .5/1, so I'd suggest doing that until you get to $600 or so.