PDA

View Full Version : I have applied Paul Phillips advice but am still sucking

11-04-2005, 12:01 PM
Paul said in a post:

[ QUOTE ]
Repeatedly applying a 60/40 edge would make you one of the top players in tournament poker.

[/ QUOTE ]

I started playing MTTs 3 months ago after doing all the preliminary reading of HOH, this forum, etc. I've played probably 100 or so MTTs since.

It never fails. I get knocked out (often early) when I push pf (on a reraise) with AA/KK against 1 to 3 donkeys. Reviewing all the times I've busted out, approximately 90% of the time I have more than a 60/40 edge.

Should I play more post-flop?

Trying really hard to stay away from results oriented thinking but the dollars lost from buy ins are starting to add up.

zambonidrivr
11-04-2005, 12:04 PM
just keep grinding man. i used to be the same way. this week i have won 3 MTT's cashing over $20K.

GL

11-04-2005, 12:08 PM
[ QUOTE ]
just keep grinding man. i used to be the same way. this week i have won 3 MTT's cashing over $20K.

GL

[/ QUOTE ]

nice. will do.

illegit
11-04-2005, 12:09 PM
My first to advice to look far, far beyond just your bustout hands and analyze your game as a whole. Just because you got in with the best of it every time you go out does not mean you're playing perfect. I mean, to take an exaggerated hypothetical, what if you you were folding every hand you got until you picked up AA, at which point you had been blinded down to only having 2 BBs left? And now you re-raise all-in. Of course you'll have the best of it. Does that mean you played perfect? Not at all. You played terribly.

Now I'm sure that's probably not happening with you, but the point is if there are leaks in your game it's probably things that happen before you "get in with the best of it" and get unlucky. Either that or you're playing fine and being too results-oriented.

11-04-2005, 12:14 PM
[ QUOTE ]