PDA

View Full Version : Why do people hit and run?

gildwulf
11-04-2005, 05:05 AM
i just started playing a lot of HU and I have found that a lot of (bad) players play a few hands, make 1 big score and then leave. Is there a psychological impetus for this or are they just dumbasses?

11-04-2005, 05:08 AM
They think you are better or might be better, so they take their win and leave.

mosquito
11-04-2005, 06:25 AM
Not being one of those, I can't say for sure.

They may think they are being clever.

They may just like posting a win.

They may know they 'got lucky' and don't want to press it, especially if they played something silly and 'fooled you'.

It's idle speculation. Have to ask one of them, but the answer may not be coherent. It's possible they have no reason at all, or none that conforms to any logic we understand.

After all, some people do the same thing with slot machines. They may just be trying to get lucky.

Jacob_Juul
11-04-2005, 08:56 AM
well the hit and run is bad for many reason (in my opinion)
just to name the two most important...

But the reason they do it is because they always want to leave the with a profit - I guess it's another not to get bored at the table. [list] When a table is good (you are winning) then you leave.
When it's bad and you get stuck - you stay until you are even or have a minor profit. It's game selection in reverse...

When it's bad and you get stuck - you stay until you are even or have a minor profit. It's game selection in reverse...

popesc
11-04-2005, 09:40 AM
Most of the hit and run artists I've seen play an extremely LAGgy game. By the time anybody at the table realizes that they are extremely reckless, they've moved on to another table.

jb9
11-04-2005, 09:56 AM
[ QUOTE ]
Most of the hit and run artists I've seen play an extremely LAGgy game. By the time anybody at the table realizes that they are extremely reckless, they've moved on to another table.

[/ QUOTE ]