PDA

View Full Version : What the hell do I tell a leasing agent?

SammyKid11
11-04-2005, 02:38 AM
So, I'm moving to Nashville in a few months to further my efforts in the music industry (Dallas is not exactly a huge hotspot for music, generally). It occurs to me that I'll have to lease an apartment or possibly buy a house. My girlfriend will be going with me -- she's gainfully employed (though makes crap for money), I play poker for a living.

Does anyone have experience with this? Whether leasing an apartment or buying a house, whoever I'm dealing with will most definitely want to know what I do -- apartments I've leased in the past (before I was a professional gambler) always asked for pay records, etc. Can I just tell these people I'm a pro poker player? Will they laugh at me and tell me to get out of their office?

Help, Zoo!

Eidal
11-04-2005, 02:41 AM
When I asked my father about this, he said that offering large sacks of cash money as deposits or rent paid months in advance is a good bargaining method.

craig r
11-04-2005, 02:44 AM
[ QUOTE ]
So, I'm moving to Nashville in a few months to further my efforts in the music industry (Dallas is not exactly a huge hotspot for music, generally). It occurs to me that I'll have to lease an apartment or possibly buy a house. My girlfriend will be going with me -- she's gainfully employed (though makes crap for money), I play poker for a living.

Does anyone have experience with this? Whether leasing an apartment or buying a house, whoever I'm dealing with will most definitely want to know what I do -- apartments I've leased in the past (before I was a professional gambler) always asked for pay records, etc. Can I just tell these people I'm a pro poker player? Will they laugh at me and tell me to get out of their office?

Help, Zoo!

[/ QUOTE ]