PDA

View Full Version : Sleep Apnea Surgery - any experiences with UPPP?

Rooster71
11-03-2005, 08:10 PM
I was diagnosed with sleep apnea three years ago and was prescribed a CPAP. I don't like using it, comfort issues sometimes make it ineffective. To make a long story short, I am scheduled to have UPPP and tongue reduction surgeries on December 1. Does anyone here have any experience with these? I have heard it it extremely painful for several days post-surgery.

MrTrik
11-03-2005, 08:18 PM
I have no experience with this surgery. I am very interested in the outcome though. Please update the thread or PM me with experiences.

Good luck.

Jeff W
11-03-2005, 08:25 PM
I'd get a second opinion before undergoing radical surgery.

BigBaitsim (milo)
11-03-2005, 08:43 PM
I'd try a better/different CPAP before surgery. My wife has serious apnea, and recently switched CPAPs. This one is a MUCH more comfortable one with variable pressure and a better mask.

Then get a second opinion.

If better/different CPAP fails and second opinion agrees, get the surgery. Sleep apnea can really make life more difficult.

fyodor
11-03-2005, 08:57 PM
I had that surgery for snoring. It was ineffective.

Rooster71
11-04-2005, 12:33 PM
[ QUOTE ]
I have no experience with this surgery. I am very interested in the outcome though. Please update the thread or PM me with experiences.

Good luck.

[/ QUOTE ]
Thanks. I will keep you posted.

Rooster71
11-04-2005, 12:37 PM
[ QUOTE ]
I'd get a second opinion before undergoing radical surgery.

[/ QUOTE ]
The second opinion really depends on what type of doctor I see. Respiratory docs almost always insist on CPAP's. ENT's will want to operate in many cases. Neurologists also work with apnea and most likely recommend CPAP.

Rooster71
11-04-2005, 12:56 PM
[ QUOTE ]
I'd try a better/different CPAP before surgery. My wife has serious apnea, and recently switched CPAPs. This one is a MUCH more comfortable one with variable pressure and a better mask.