PDA

View Full Version : Getting your money in with the best of it...

Fitz
06-15-2003, 08:36 PM
Is this what it's really all about? With the exception of times right on the bubble or other instances where you will fold all but the very best hands(AA, KK etc). It seems to me, especially in the larger events, it comes down to one or two decisions about all of your chips. Occasionally, you come down as a big favorite ie. JJ v. 77, but many times it is a crapshoot ie AK v. 99 or even the reverse where you hold the pair. This is still a slim edge. How many times can you expect to go all in even with the best hand before your opponent hits his 3 outter and you are on the rail.

I'm just beginning to learn the whole NL tourney world, so all advice is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Nottom
06-16-2003, 01:14 AM
Now I'm not a tourney guru, but if you are talking about 3 outers (AK vs AQ or somethign to that effect) you are about a 3-1 favorite so you will lose 1 in 4. Even if you wait for AA to push all in you are probably gonna get beat 1 in 6 times or so.

This is of course is another reason why its nice to have the big stack. A small stack only gets one chance to screw up but the bigger stack has the chance to make that all-in mistake and still be alive.

Greg (FossilMan)
06-16-2003, 10:37 AM
If you're always getting in your chips with the best of it, you will eventually come out ahead in tourney play.

The fact that you will be in these tough spots multiple times each event isn't the issue. If you're the favorite each time, in the long run you will come out ahead. Unless you're blinding yourself off too much while waiting for the perfect situation where you're 100% certain you're ahead.