PDA

View Full Version : JJ on the button, easy laydown?

fnurt
06-15-2003, 05:41 PM
First hand of PokerStars big $200+$15 NL tourney, blinds are 10/20. I pick up two red Jacks on the button, one limper in EP, one limper in MP, I raise to 120. Blinds fold and limpers call. Pot is 390.

Flop is 752 with 2 hearts. Checked to me and I bet 600. EP folds, MP raises to 1700.

Comments? Is this an easy decision?

Fitz
06-15-2003, 06:19 PM
I'm still learning the whole NL tourney game, but I am beginning to get one point pounded into my thick skull. Don't call off your chips. It is tempting since you've got an overpair, but without some very convincing info on the raiser, I'd have to let it go here.

I'd be curious to see what others think,

Sly_Grin
06-15-2003, 06:44 PM
don't you start with 1500 ? Anyway, if someone is willing to risk 1700 on the first hand - which I assume is almost all-in - I'm gonna give him credit for a set and fold.

Guy McSucker
06-15-2003, 10:59 PM
Like it says, N/M.

Guy.

Greg (FossilMan)
06-16-2003, 10:31 AM
Not even close to easy. There are plenty of people in this tourney who would make that raise with A7, 88, 99, TT, as well as with the hands that beat you (sets, AA-QQ).

I would tend to seriously discount the possibility of AA, and even KK. QQ to a smaller extent. This is MP, who flat-called preflop after 1 limper. Few people trap with big pairs preflop unless they are the first person to come in. Many more of them raise if there has already been a limper. Plus, if they were trapping, they just got you for T120 preflop, and EP called, so you would expect them to decloak preflop and make you both pay to outdraw them. So, I find overpairs an unlikely holding.