PDA

View Full Version : Question about downswings

11-02-2005, 09:46 AM
Basically what I want to ask is how downswings work. I am pretty new to internet poker(started playing in August) and I like to think I am catching on pretty quickly, because I am understanding all of the concepts discussed on the forum and in SSHE. I play .5/1 and I am on about a $160 downswing. How do I tell if this is a downswing or if I'm just a bad player? When does it change from a downswing to a leak? I try to play tight aggressive and protect my top pairs and strong draws, but it seems like this is costing me money. I could be wrong though.... and I could just be bitter because I lost to four of a kind 4 times last night in 20 minutes. I'll stop rambling, but any advise would be appreciated.

11-02-2005, 09:50 AM
That's a pretty sizeable (160 BB) downswing, so you should investigate what the cause is...could be variance, could be you've played poorly. Post some hands, start by posting your top pair hands to see if you've overplayed them or missed some value bets (more likely).

NateDog
11-02-2005, 09:51 AM
[ QUOTE ]
Basically what I want to ask is how downswings work. I am pretty new to internet poker(started playing in August) and I like to think I am catching on pretty quickly, because I am understanding all of the concepts discussed on the forum and in SSHE. I play .5/1 and I am on about a $160 downswing. How do I tell if this is a downswing or if I'm just a bad player? When does it change from a downswing to a leak? I try to play tight aggressive and protect my top pairs and strong draws, but it seems like this is costing me money. I could be wrong though.... and I could just be bitter because I lost to four of a kind 4 times last night in 20 minutes. I'll stop rambling, but any advise would be appreciated.

[/ QUOTE ]