PDA

View Full Version : Cambridge, UK. Would I like it?

ceyoung
11-01-2005, 01:27 PM
I know there are some Cambridge students on this board. I'm thinking of taking a job in Cambridge. What's the town like? I'm mostly interested in the nightlife and activities. I'm in Watford now and I find that there isn't enough to do here. My original plan was to move to London, but it's been hard finding engineering jobs in London.

11-01-2005, 01:47 PM
I was a Cambridge student 1997-2000 and had a blast BUT the social life there is very much college/university based. There was not much outside that - bars/clubs weren't great. I have been back a few times since (including this weekend), and it does not seem to have improved massively. In fact, it sems to have got worse, with a large chav element roaming the town on the weekends...

ceyoung
11-01-2005, 01:55 PM
yah, thats what im worried about. im only 23, but wouldn't really have a way to integrate with the students. plenty of chavs in watford, so i guess that wouldnt be changing much.

11-01-2005, 02:00 PM
To be honest mate, it is pretty much like any other small provincial town in terms of nightlife/activities: not really up to much. The student social scene is great, but like you say, won't be easy to get involved in really. Still, the train is only 1 hour to Kings Cross!

ceyoung
11-01-2005, 02:02 PM
yah, i was thinking i could get a place near king's cross and commute. but i dont know how reasonable that would be.

daveymck
11-01-2005, 02:12 PM
Oxford is much better for nightlife if looking for uni based jobs. An hour form London as well, plus 24 hr bus for fri and sat nights in london.

Cambridge is pretty dead imho form the 3 months I spent there.

11-01-2005, 02:14 PM