PDA

View Full Version : Bruised and Battered..I'm Back!

J LU
10-31-2005, 09:57 PM
(Warning - Some may find this of Low Content)

First, I would like to thank all that take the time to read this. This is a request for some help and ideas on how I need to best proceed to improve my game.

A brief history:

I started playing Hold'em in 1999, shortly after Canterbury Downs opened up here in Minnesota. Prior to that, I had played the plethora of home game variations such as jacks or better, 7 stud, low & high Chicago, low hole, guts, etc. Won some, lost some…playing with no clear action plan and relying strictly on luck. It was once I started playing some a Canterbury that I realized that Hold'em could be played profitably, if I only knew where to turn. One day I ran into a guy at the card room that introduced me to Sklandsky, and other authors, as well as Card Player magazine. I started reading incessantly. I'm not a dumb guy, and I was able to realize early on that most profitable players play tight and aggressive. Wanting to be a profitable player, I curtailed my starting hand requirements and brought my starting hand requirements all the way down to probably 30-40%, and started playing more fit or fold. What most might consider a bonefied fish. I was winning some, losing some…overall losing but felt like I was an overall winner on nights that I would leave up $700.

Fast forward to May 2004:

I'm playing a free roll on EP and no one else shows up to the table but one other guy and me. We are bleeding off the non-show blings - taking turns, and doing some freindly chatting. Middle of the tourney he asked me if I was "brown trout". I of course respond with a "???". He then says "2+2r?". I say "what's that" and he spells it out "twoplustwo.com". Which let me to this site, and consequently this very long post.