PDA

View Full Version : Shorting the US dollar

TStoneMBD
10-30-2005, 04:20 AM
All this talk about the dollar falling I'm starting to believe it. I hear that Buffet and Gates are shorting the dollar so why shouldn't I? From my understanding, any dollar you invest in the forex market allows you to control $100 worth of currency. Wouldn't it be a sound investment to short the US dollar with 100x leverage? If i diversify in foreign exchanges the only fear I have to worry about it is if the dollar somehow rises. Of course if it does I risk getting wiped clean. If it maintains its position for a long time I lose nothing, but if it collapses I would make a fortune once I buy back into the economy.

I'm a novice with these things so please fill me in on anything I am missing. It appears to me that the upside of shorting the US dollar is so great while the downside is so minimal. Because of this, I'm skeptical on its potential.

On another note, is there a way for me to setup my neteller account directly to the forex market so that I can enter and exit easily? Do I need to withdraw everything to my bank account and eft it into Forex?

What software would you recommend I use to short the Forex market and how could I get setup easily with minimal costs. I understand that 4xmadeeasy is a good program but I also understand that it costs far more than I'm willing to invest.

MMMMMM
10-30-2005, 09:31 AM
You do realize that if you work with 100x leverage, a 1% move against you will wipe out your entire margin thus closing out your position at a loss, right?

You should take a look at some past charts of the dollar's movement--hour charts, day charts, monthly charts, and yearly charts--just to see what kind of fluctuations are involved.

It is not that hard to call the direction right overall, yet still have your position wiped out in the shorter term if you are highly leveraged.

TStoneMBD
10-30-2005, 03:25 PM