PDA

View Full Version : Limit Hi-lo Pineapple discards.

Phat Mack
06-12-2003, 03:57 AM
The game is 5 10 Crazy Pineapple hi-lo, eight or die, throw one after the flop. Nine handed, some OK players in other formats, but mainly wild and clueless. 6-8 see the flop, usually with a raise thrown in.

I have little limit pineapple experience, and almost no hi-lo pineapple experience, but have been playing hi-lo games for a lot of years.

Here is a composite hand constructed from several that occurred during a 7-hour session. I'd be on the button with 2 /forums/images/icons/diamond.gif, 3 /forums/images/icons/club.gif, 5 /forums/images/icons/diamond.gif . Flop would come A /forums/images/icons/diamond.gif, 7 /forums/images/icons/diamond.gif, 8 /forums/images/icons/spade.gif . Do I keep the nut low, or do I keep a working low with a weak flush draw?

In the three times this happened to me, I kept the flush draw (scoop is the name of the game), hit the flush and scooped. My reasoning was a) there's no protection from counterfeiting, so nut low wasn't that strong on the flop, b) 80% of the players thought that 6-5 was a good low holding, so there wasn't much point in obsessing about the nuts, and c) a flush appearing on the board didn't slow anyone with top pair down.

Has anybody given this any thought? Was my success solid play or luck?

Graham
06-12-2003, 12:59 PM
Don't know why I'm responding to a Pineapple post, but here goes...

I'm surprised you got away with making baby flushes. I'd expect you to often be looking at a bigger flush after putting a chunk of chips in. Doesn't sound exciting, but I'd have gone the other way, kept the low, hope it held up and jammed the turn for the big bet value.

That's probably less than 2 cents worth.

G

beetman
06-12-2003, 05:37 PM