PDA

View Full Version : Bad heads up . . . need advice

10-29-2005, 01:45 AM
This is my first time here. I play a lot of sit n go's online, and find that I almost always place, but rarely first. Usually I come in second. I am playing NLHE for $10. I know that I am weak heads up, so I am wondering if anyone knows of any books out there that could help me. I think my main problem seems to be playing hands like a K2 to a raise. I think I should be playing it (especially when they raise every hand) but I'm not sure. I do fine playing big hands and small cards like suited connectors, but anything else I don't know what I am doing. Any advice would be appreciated.

splashpot
10-29-2005, 01:54 AM
Post specific hands.

bluefeet
10-29-2005, 02:10 AM
Check out the links in this post (http://forumserver.twoplustwo.com/showflat.php?Cat=&Board=singletable&Number=1918735 &fpart=&PHPSESSID=) - section 2.10.

Not sure of the structure you're playing under, but during most PP/turbo HU situations, there is little room for finesse. Check out Strasser's "Heads up evaluation" thread link in the post above. This level of aggression is fairly standard when the blinds dictate such a sudden finally.

When the blinds are not so large in relation to your stacks, there really is no fast rule for raising/calling standards. It becomes MUCH more about the information you've gathered on your opponent than it does each others hands. For the same reason, posting these situations also does little good. Given the time/chips, you need to mix up your play quite a bit - looking him up, bluffing, etc., etc., all to gain information to make your next play more optimal.

But like I said, usually at some point the blinds will dictate that you throw posturing and such out the window. Lean hard on your open aggression and you'll fair better more times than not.

Irieguy
10-29-2005, 02:54 AM
[ QUOTE ]
I play a lot of sit n go's online, and find that I almost always place

[/ QUOTE ]