PDA

View Full Version : Buying used Audi... Should low price set off alarm bells?

w_alloy
10-29-2005, 01:17 AM
I need a new car, and found a used 1999 Audi A8 Quattro with 102,000 miles in "immaculate" condition for 5k. The book for one of these with this amount of miles in "good" condition from a private seller is around 16k. It looks like a great car.

I talked to the seller and he said he buys and sells a lot of used cars, and this one he got from a friend in a different state for 4200. He said he re-painted it and cleaned it up a lot, and it runs perfectly. I jokingly asked if he stole it over the phone and he kind of nervously laughed (maybe it was a normal laugh, it was over the phone and he I've never met the guy). The price being this low worried me. He seemed like a nice guy in his mid-late 20s. I am going to see the car tomorrow.

I have no experience with cars, especially buying them. I have a few questions: Is this low of pricing normal? Is this a good car; does anyone have experience with it? Should I get a mechanic to look at it before I buy? I was gonna do a car fax report, but realized I needed information I didnt have. Should I get the car's number and do one before I buy? If it actually is stolen (which I think is a long-shot btw) is there any reason, moral concerns aside, I shouldnt buy it? With a deal like this, should I act fast so noone else can snatch it from under me? Anything else I should know?

Sorry for the semi-long and boring post but I've never bought a car before and could really use this info before tomorrow.

bholdr
10-29-2005, 01:31 AM
it has likely been wrecked and rebuilt. for what you're spending, it is worth your time and $$ to hire a mechanic to check it out. also, try carfax.com to get the history, and maybe the DMV for records, too.

sounds way too good. if it's really straight... nice. very nice.

handsome
10-29-2005, 01:37 AM
Maybe he got sick of paying super high maintenance costs.

w_alloy
10-29-2005, 01:47 AM