PDA

View Full Version : AQs in BB vs. UTG all-in

Ulysses
06-10-2003, 01:42 AM
14 players left out of 40. Top 9 make the money. I only really care about the top 3 places.

Blinds are 80-160 w/ 20 ante, so there's about 400 in the middle to start.

I have about 4000, which is a slightly above average stack at my table. I am in the big blind w/ AQs.

A pretty bad player raises all-in UTG for 2300. Folded to me. I feel like he could be on a pretty wide range of hands here. I feel like I'm quite a bit better than most of my opponents at this table. If I win, I'm the chip leader at this table. If I lose, I'm one of the shortest stacks.

Call or fold?

Fitz
06-10-2003, 02:24 AM
I'm just learning the NL tourney game, but let me give this a shot. You say he's weak, but he is under the gun, so I think you have to give him credit for decent hand. What hands can you put the guy on? Maybe a medium to large pocket pair 88-JJ, or AK, AQ, AJ? There is always the possibility he has one of big boys AA, KK, QQ, but since he's weak we'll put him on the first group and discount the three monsters. You are still a minor dog to an under pair; you are dominated by AK, slightly ahead of AQ because yours is suited and you dominate AJ. If you are a better player than those around you, and since you have a decent stack size, I'd toss in my AQs and wait for a better situation.

Just my opinion, and I'm still learning.

Good luck,

Kurn, son of Mogh
06-10-2003, 08:38 AM
Even if you can assume that he'd make this play with KQ, QJ or QT, remember this poker fact: Even the worst player on earth has the ability to be dealt AA.

Fold. You've still got a good sized stack relative to the blinds. No need to gamble here.

ohkanada
06-10-2003, 09:08 AM
Fold. Why risk 1/2 your stack with AQ vs an UTG raiser? Not sure why the UTG raiser would bet all-in 15xBB but I would let this one go without much thought.

Ken Poklitar

DaNoob
06-10-2003, 09:31 AM