PDA

View Full Version : Proper Job Interview attire

BoogerFace
10-26-2005, 04:48 PM
I've got a job interview tomorrow. Is a suit and tie standard these days or too dressy? I hate the business casual concept.

Currently I'm a software engineer at a small OEM, my interview is for a large hardware company.

p.s. I hate job interviews. So much so that it's been 8 years since my last one.

Crimson
10-26-2005, 04:49 PM
Yeah. Suit and Tie = very important.

stabn
10-26-2005, 04:51 PM
[ QUOTE ]
Yeah. Suit and Tie = very important.

[/ QUOTE ]

In the software industry this really depends on the company. If you don't know better and can't find out then i agree. However a suit is almost always overkill in this industry.

jnalpak
10-26-2005, 04:51 PM
[ QUOTE ]

I hate the business casual concept.

[/ QUOTE ]

this is only AFTER you get the job

Suit & Tie is mandatory Good Luck!

B Dids
10-26-2005, 04:55 PM
I had this debate a while back wrt people I interviewed.

One girl was dressed normally, professionaly.

The other girl was in an outfit that while mostly professional, the top was sleevless and a little risque (it would have worked with a blazer, but wouldn't have been out of place in a club either). Now I don't mind, and both were dress comparativly nicer than I was, but it did tilt my perception of the 2nd girl.

Not because I judge people specifically on how they're dressed, but because dressing like that calls into question the thought process that the person employeed in preparing for the interview.

Basically the first person went with the option that likely had no negatives, the second went with an option that while is likely totally acceptable, depending on the audience could bring negatives, which is something I might consider when judging two closely qualified candidates. Simply because by my mind one person was likely to have employed better logic than the other.