PDA

View Full Version : Suckout Frustration

sladgie
10-26-2005, 08:47 AM
I've been playing smallstakes holdem' for a few years now. I am at the point where I can't afford the bankroll for 3/6 or more, so I primarily play 2/4 or 1/2.

I am sure there have been previous posts much like this one but i am relatively new here so here we go.

I am at the point where I am on the verge of quitting poker altogether. I am not a trust fund baby and I don't like losing in anything and im here to make money. I have found that when i play 1/2 or lower , there are at least 2, usually 3 players on every table that play any 2 cards and call raises preflop with anything. They are not necessarily passive types either.

Every time i have good cards i get sucked out. I am not exaggerating. If i have KK they call me and win with J 3 o played UTG when the board is like 8 3 3 or something on the flop. This goes on hand after hand. They call every raise i make with quality cards regardless of what 2 they hold. If there were only one player like this on every table it might be manageable. So basicly they dont win anything individually, they just randomize the game to the point where the good player has no edge at all. In fact maybe by limiting my starting cards I am reducing my chance of winning to less than the usual random 10% of hands.

OK possible solutions: Totally change my approach?

For example always limp with big pairs and be prepared to fold any time there is action and i don't improve? Increase drastically the number of suited hands which i play?

My other question for the experienced 2/4 3/6 players. Do you think the number of suckouts goes down proportionately to the betting limit?? If i start to play just 2/4 instead of 1/2 is it going to get better? Same thing for 3/6 as opposed to 2/4?

Or do you routinely see the same thing even in the mid limit range?

Any comments of encouragement will be appreciated !

Thanks , Sladgie

jason_t
10-26-2005, 08:49 AM