PDA

View Full Version : near the final table -- overbet pot

10-24-2005, 02:19 AM
100K freeroll on PP. 13 players left from a field of 2650. Players are very strong and aggressive that are left. Hero just got moved to a new table where he has 350K with 3 stacks that have close to 400K there (Hero is 5th in chips). Payout structure is as follows: 20-11: 700, 10: 1000, ... 1: 21000

Folded to the hijack who goes all-in for 375K. Hero looks down at 88. Is it the ++EV play to go for a huge chip stack and call here, or is it better to play it safe and wait for a better spot?

Sorry, if this is an easy question, I'm typically a limit player and I'm new to this part of the 2p2 forums.

10-24-2005, 02:59 AM
Is there not enough information here? -- no advice?

Pasterbator
10-24-2005, 03:40 AM
What are the blinds? Either way, I'm pretty sure i fold. There is very little chance that you're better than a coinflip, and you might be dominated. Fold and keeps stealing blinds.

ZeroPointMachine
10-24-2005, 03:41 AM
[ QUOTE ]
Is there not enough information here? -- no advice?

[/ QUOTE ]

Blinds would help but I'm not sure they could be high enough for me to call here. If this player has been making standard raises and this all-in is a sign of weakness and a possible smaller pocket pair and the blinds are really big(30k-60k) it might just be a call. Need a really strong read to risk that stack to a coinflip at this stage.

10-24-2005, 01:51 PM
blinds are 10K/20K. The range of hands I put him on are 22-TT (JJ?), AK-AT, KQ, KJ. I've see people do this even with Ax and Kx. A lot of these hands i have coin flip with (minus 99, TT, JJ). Is it worth it to put my tournament at risk here to vault me way into 1st and cruise into the final table? Or is it better to wait for a better spot and possibly never gain that chip lead and bleed away...

10-24-2005, 01:55 PM