PDA

View Full Version : FILM REVIEW: A Mighty Wind

diebitter
10-23-2005, 03:00 AM
It sounds like some dumb Segal/Van Damme movie, but it isn't! This offering is from much of the same crew that brought you Spinal Tap, Best In Show, and Waiting For Guffman.

It's a mockumentary/comedy about a reunion concert of various folk bands as a tribute to their previous manager/promoter, and is the usual funny-but-subdued style of the films mentioned. Much of the comedy arises from the characters' sense of reality not really fitting the real world, or each other. It's low-key, and you need to be in a relaxed and quiet frame of mind, but it is quite rewarding if you are willing to put in a small bit of effort.

There are 3 main groups in the concert, representing different faces of folk, I guess (I'm no expert). There's a big, clap-happy troupe (Mamas and Papas sort of thing I guess), a straight folk band that got famous once by releasing a novelty record, and a girl-boy duo that are more folk-pop that folk.

For the most part the songs are played straight and are not comedic (with one or two exceptions), and this works well in the film's favour and the most touching is probably the pair Mitch and Mickey, who sort of had something that's gone, but still have some sort of regret and feelings left. Their song 'Kiss at the End of the Rainbow', is genuinely poigniant, and when they perform it, it's the film's emotional highpoint.

I'm finding it hard to properly express the type and level of comedy here, so I'm just going to quote some of the lines to give you a feel on what's in this film: