PDA

View Full Version : $40 B&M satellite, steep blind structure - advice?

10-23-2005, 01:42 AM
A local B&M poker room holds continuous $40 satellites for $240 bi-weekly MTT's (approx. 200 players per MTT).

Satellite winner gets the entry ticket, 2nd gets the $40 buy-in back. I'm new to tournaments (and new to 2+2), so I've been pretty much just making it up as I go along. I have two questions, any feedback would be appreciated.

First - the setup: You start with t1000. To make fast games, the blinds crank up quickly, moving up every 10 hands with the following structure:

25/50
75/150
150/300
300/600
400/800
etc.

You have to play fast, or you've blinded off 75% of your stack after about 30 hands. Many of the players play ...questionably... (not that I'm very good either) - limping with trash, or raising 30-50% of their stack with marginal hands and then folding when reraised all-in.

My questions:

1) Strategy - How should I tackle this combination of players/structure? My approach has been to play relatively tight PF until the blinds reach 150/300 (granted, that's only 20 or fewer hands). By then the table is usually down to about 7 players. I then loosen up and also try to get more aggressive, pushing with any pair, AXs, AKo-A8o, KQs-KTs, KQo-KJo, QJs, to try to steal the blinds and/or attack anybody who checks, limps, or min-raises. I loosen up my PF requirements as more people get knocked out, but usually only play pairs, two big cards, and suited A's and K's until it's down to 3-4 players, and then I just try to attack the short stacks. So far I've done ok - 50% ITM - but given the miniscule sample size (12 satellites) I'm sure it's more luck than anything else. Any suggestions on what adjustments (or major overhauls) I should be making would be very welcome.