PDA

View Full Version : What buy-in should I play?

10-21-2005, 05:22 PM
I've been playing MTT tourneys for about 4 months now. I'm well up on my literature, HOH, TOP etc.
My results are mixed and confusing. They are small sample sizes but i'll detail them anyway.
I initially started playing the freerolls on stars as practise. I finished in the top 10% approx 15-20% of the time. I played about 20 tourneys.
I started playing the small buy-in tourney $3 on stars and Partypoker. I've played about 30 of these. I would have to say I found the $3 more comfortable. I have finished in the money about 20% of the time, however i've never finished deep, therefore making it unprofitable. My best finish is 75th out of 5000.
I have also had free entry into about 5 higher stake tourneys when I joined another poker site (equivalent of about $10 buy in). I finished 4th out of 200 in one winning about $150. I also had one other ITM finish ,winning $20, and also once went out on the bubble.
I have tried the $1 and $2 tourneys on stars a few times in recent days and find it very difficult playing against calling stations. The thing I find difficult is the difficulty to read them and the meaning of their plays.
What buy-in should I be thinking of playing? Should I stick with $3 or give the $5 tourneys a try?

10-21-2005, 05:27 PM
I don't think you'll find a huge difference in terms of skill between $3 and $5 tournies, both should be profitable. The more important question is what is your bankroll? Others know more about this than I do, but I think the consensus is that you should have 40-50 buy-ins in your bankroll. So if you've got $250, you ought to be able to play the $5 tournies.

10-21-2005, 05:28 PM
I might be wrong, but didn't you post this exact same question a few days ago? The thread seemed to be quite long, thought you might of got your answers there.

10-21-2005, 05:34 PM