PDA

View Full Version : Total NOOB Question

Slow Play Ray
10-20-2005, 02:36 PM
When a company comes out of Chapter 11 protection, does the stock generally go up immediately?

I apologize if this is a stupid question; I am very green when it comes to the market.

Sniper
10-20-2005, 02:45 PM
This would be very dependent on what deal was worked out to bring the company out of chap 11.

tek
10-20-2005, 03:34 PM
Usually the previous common stock becomes wallpaper. The former bonds and preferred (if any are converted into "new" common stock.

Cazz
10-22-2005, 06:24 AM
Just to add a little more to what the others have said:

When a company files for Chapter 11, the creditors
have to be paid off before the owners. Since w/ a BK
company the liabilities exceed the assests, there
is almost never anything left over for the stock
holders.

Since a company is often more valuable as a business
than selling off the assets for scrap value, the
creditors will take ownership of the company as
compensation. The bankruptcy judge determines
who gets paid, how much, etc. He can order the
sale of assets and must approve any actions
the company takes. As part of the exit from
BK, the old stock will be cancelled and new
stock be issued. For a large company, the new
stock will often be traded on the stock
market under a new symbol. Until the old
stock is cancelled it can still be traded
over the counter, but barring a major miracle
it will be worthless.

This is from the UAL FAQ on the United web site:

What does it mean that the common stock will be cancelled? Why aren't current common stockholders receiving anything under the Plan?