PDA

View Full Version : My whole say on all this "drop of of school stuff"

FatalError
10-19-2005, 07:48 PM
I'll preface this with my short history, i just graduated college in august with a 3.7 GPA, i played poker almost non stop my senior year and spent very little of the money, i did'nt have much of a social life, i went on a few trips but they were all to play poker, my girlfriend broke up with me in january and i never bothered to find another one, why did she leave? obviously poker! (she lost, we'll find out why later)

So what amazing point is my pompous ass about to make, well guess what stay in school you donkeys. I did'nt drop out even though it was financially viable because i'll probably never use my computer science degree. I graduated because it was +EV for life, it made my family happy because i'm the first ever college graduate in a family of immigrants. So i've got 18k in college loans because i had a scholarship big deal and here is why.

I sacrificed my social life my senior year because i had a plan. Most of you want to drop out to still have a social life, but if you just perform well at school AND play poker with all the rest of your free time you can save a serious amount of money. in 9 months i put away almost 50,000$ to work as a playing bankroll and to spend. I graduated and hit the ground running.

If you had met me in august you would'nt have known i had a dime to my name, that changed quick because i saved all that cash. I bought the car, the diamond watch, the apartment in downtown boston, the tv, the artwork, everything... if you dreamed about having it during your college years i got it. And now i live with my college buddies, and now my life at 21 years old and 2 months out of college is great. It won't last forever, neither will poker but for now i have a bankroll to play at the levels necessary to maintain an awesome standard of living and i did'nt have to give up college and my future to do it.