PDA

View Full Version : Does having large amounts in your bank account get reported by banks?

Python49
10-19-2005, 04:44 PM
I had always read that banks report people who have made transactions over 10k... but what about someone whose bank account is constantly growing but all transactions are under 10k? My account is getting biger and the larger it gets the more worried I am that a bank will just report me. I'm a student so I don't have money coming out, just money coming in. What if someone had a bank account where they just had 300,000 sitting in the bank account and none of it being spent... do they get reported? I don't have 300k but just giving an example. That much money just sitting in a bank account certainly gets noticed I assume?

Bradyams
10-19-2005, 04:46 PM
I thought that transactions over $1k were reported.

10-19-2005, 04:47 PM
I gather the reason you are concerned is for income tax purposes?

BigBiceps
10-19-2005, 04:47 PM
The amount of interest your account earns gets reported to the IRS.

edfurlong
10-19-2005, 04:49 PM
If you are trying to avoid taxes a US bank account may not be the way to go. Just a thought.

XChamp
10-19-2005, 04:49 PM
Here's an idea: pay your taxes.

That way you don't have to worry about getting caught for the rest of your life and *gasp* you contribute to your town, state, and country at the same time.

Python49
10-19-2005, 05:03 PM
I'll be paying taxes, doesn't change the question of this thread though.

XChamp
10-19-2005, 05:08 PM
I don't understand why you would care about the answer to this question unless you were evading taxes.

Python49
10-19-2005, 05:15 PM
Because I was told that deposits over 10k got reported but im curious to know what happens if you just have a bank account with lots of money in it if that gets reported too. I mean, just because i'm reporting doesnt mean I want to increase my chance of getting audited. I'm only reporting my net anyway because that's what my accountant suggested (yes, i know).