PDA

View Full Version : The Learning Curve

ElSapo
06-03-2003, 04:32 PM
Every game or sport or hobby I've ever done has had its own learning curve. And if anyone has read the book "Mastery," (a phenomenal book on a path towards excellence), it describes the peaks and plateaus of learning a new skill. Anyways, I've been thinking a lot lately about what's been happening with my poker game, where I am, and where I'm going.

I Started playing in a home game about a year ago. That play - that game - was and probably still is mostly irrelevent to the majority of poker playing I do. Then came the multiple home game stage - players were bad, tables were short and I was winning. Then, about a three months ago, I decided to try and get serious. I started playing online, low limit stuff, and devoting a fair amount of time to it.

I bought into Party for $50 and lost it. Rebought, and lost most of that. Rebought, worked by way back to the initial buy in, and now I hover in that area.

In short, I think my game has hit an initial plateau. If you've read "Mastery," these are periods of times that follow jumps learning.

I've been a break-even player for about six weeks now (which is nothing, I know). I go up some, loosen up maybe, drop some, have a good day, have a bad day, make good plays (I think), make poor plays (I'm sure)...

And so I wonder what comes next.

This is really a bunch of rambled thoughts that end with a question or two. I'd be interested in hearing other players' descriptions of the learning curves they went through to reach the game they have now. I've read the 2+2 essay on the stages of a poker players education -- this is partly what I mean.