PDA

View Full Version : Must you go broke to be great?

10-18-2005, 04:56 PM
I have heard that many of the best poker players - with sklansky being the exception - are actually quite proud of going broke at some point in their careers. I used to think this was silly, but my experience this past year had led me to question that notion.
I've been playing poker seriously for about 18 months - several games and limtis - and have always been proud that I've never had to reload my bankroll. At the same time, I have been unable to steadily build my bankroll. I just seem to hover around my initial investment. Could be I'm beating the game, but not the rake, since I primarly play $4-8 limit and $30 ring games.
I tend to play farily tight - though I will push in certain situations. What I am wondering is if my desire not to reload my bankroll has kept me from getting involved with more difficult hands that may cost me a little more in the short term, but will make my play stronger and enable me to outplay others in more difficult hands down the road. In otherwords, should I be more experiemental with my play in hopes it will pay off down the road or should I continue to play conservative until I eventually break through. Thoughts?

jba
10-18-2005, 05:26 PM
the only way to steadily build your bankroll is by taking less money out of the roll than you win. If your bankroll is not growing, you are either taking too much money out of it or you are not a winning player.

If you start playing higher than your bankroll supports, you will have a greater chance that your bankroll grows. The tradeoff is that you have a greater chance of growing broke as well -- there is no way around this fact, it is math.