PDA

View Full Version : Index funds

Maurader1
10-17-2005, 01:38 AM
if the indices are almost guaranteed to rise 10%/yr over long periods of time, what stops people from putting all their money there and earn at least 10%?

MrBlue
10-17-2005, 08:42 AM
I'm a newbie investor as well and the below are my thoughts.

1. Past performance does not necessarily gaurantee future performance.

The US has had incredible growth the last 100 years. If you are bullish on the US economy for the next 30-50 years, then by all means, invest all your money here.

There's also the emerging markets factor.
China, India, Brazil, etc.

And the baby boomer factor.
Are they going to suck the life of the markets starting in 08?

2. How long is long?

There were periods of 5-10 years where performace of the S&P was below 10% per annum. Could you wait it out if we hit one of those streches again?

midas
10-17-2005, 08:46 AM
Stock brokers and other financial advisors

10-17-2005, 11:19 AM
It's not a guaranteed 10%. You may gain or lose 30% in a single year. You may lose money over a 10 year period. Therefore those nearing retirement should not have all their money or even more than half in stock index funds. If you're under 30, you don't need the money until retirement, and you won't panic and sell if it drops right away, then by all means stick a whole bunch into an index fund.

LearnedfromTV
10-17-2005, 11:29 AM
There are a lot of reasons to think U.S. equities will return significantly less than 10% per year over the next 50 years. This doesn't mean index funds are a bad thing, just that there's no easy path to wealth.

You are much more likely to actually end up with a lot of money in fifty years if you make more realistic assumptions.

Sniper
10-17-2005, 12:47 PM
[ QUOTE ]
if the indices are almost guaranteed to rise 10%/yr over long periods of time

[/ QUOTE ]