PDA

View Full Version : Beating loose players

10-13-2005, 08:24 PM
I have been playing poker for about 3 years. I have studied the game and have read the books. I have a great home game with players that have done the same and fair very well. In Vermont, large poker tourneys can only be held as fundraisers and 30% of the take in must be given to charity. Head count in usually 100 plus players at $50 - $100 a head. The problem is 80 to 90% of the people that show up have watched poker on TV and think they know how to play. Example : blinds are at 10 - 20 and I am big blind. I have pocket 10's. 5 callers to the blind so I raise to 100. I get one caller. Flop is rainbow with 7, 9, 2 all different suits. I bet 100, He calls. Turn is an 8, still not matching any suits. I bet 200, again he calls. River is a J. I now have the straight, I check, he bets 100 I raise to 300 and he calls. We turn over the cards. I find out he has been calling the whole way with a 10-3 off. Split pot but what was he doing in the hand to begin with? The next hand, the same guy called 150 raise with a 10-4 off and caught a boat against someone eles. How do you beat this kind of play?

edfurlong
10-13-2005, 09:03 PM
You beat this kind of game by playing it a ton.

JacksonTens
10-13-2005, 09:13 PM
Never complain about T3 calling a $100 raise.

Ever.

Ever again.

JT /images/graemlins/spade.gif

10-13-2005, 09:32 PM
IMO, you have to play a little looser. I tried to the tighten up and be a rock thing, but it just doesn't work. You have to loosen up a little and see flops to try and get lucky.

10-13-2005, 09:52 PM
As soon as a serious poker player with a real reply to my original note can answer, the happier I will be.
Please, only serious answers.
Thank you.

10-13-2005, 09:53 PM
Unless your Doyle Brunson, do not chat to me about 10-3 off.
( Bracelet #10 )

Aytumious
10-13-2005, 10:13 PM
[ QUOTE ]