PDA

View Full Version : SNG Playing style

10-11-2005, 03:38 PM
Hello All!

I have been lurking here for awhile but this is my first post.

I have been playing poker seriously for only about 4 months now. I was just wondering what your guys' playing style is when you are playing SNG's.

I usually play really tight in the first 3 levels, usually not even playing one or two hands. In the next three levels, I tighten up even more and only play Pocket Aces through Jacks. I will take the opportunity to steal some blinds if I think I can, though. Then, in the levels after this, usually after the bubble, I loosen my game up and start gambling a little bit. The only problem is by this point, I am usually the short stack becuase I haven't been playing many hands and I usually finish in 3rd. Would you guys recommend playing a little looser in the earlier levels to try and build your stack up so you have a little better chance of winning when you're ITM?

I know this is probably a dumb question, but I had to ask.

zambonidrivr
10-11-2005, 04:05 PM
take cover

tshort
10-11-2005, 04:09 PM
I would lurk around the forum, read the FAQ, and use the search function to find general strategy posts.

You are way too tight in levels 3+.

Big Limpin'
10-11-2005, 04:10 PM
if you are reching the bubble with an average stack, then you aren't getting there enough.

i think most everyone who makes money with sng plays in a manner similar to what you mention...tight early, then ramping up aggression progressively. this translates to >30% ITM, with the (less critical) consequence of having a below average stack in the midgame, "on average". heh

splashpot
10-11-2005, 04:12 PM
Lurk harder. And read everything here (http://forumserver.twoplustwo.com/showflat.php?Cat=&Number=1918735&page=0&view=colla psed&sb=7&o=&fpart=1).

sahala
10-11-2005, 04:26 PM