PDA

View Full Version : Odds Question - AA & KK in Consecutive Hands

10-06-2005, 09:26 AM
Hey all. This is my first post here, but I am a student of Harrington on Hold 'Em and soon to be moving on to Sklansky once I finish off Harrington Volume II.

I thought I'd break the ice with an odds question that was a little intriguing to me.

I was playing in a 10+1 sit n go last night on Pokerroom. We were down to 4-handed and I was the short stack with some work to do. All of the sudden, next thing I know all 3 of my opponents were all-in and the chip lead wins the hand with AA, catapulting me into 2nd. So the first hand heads-up I get J 10 suited, and decide to go with it, and I'm called by the chip leader who rolls KK and finishes off the table.

As it were, this guy took out the first 3 at the table, the last 3, and I think at least 1 or 2 in the middle. He was unconscious.

Does anyone know what the odds are of him getting AA and KK in consecutive hands?? Its gotta be insane.

Hope I can work my way into some conversation here at the forum. It looks like there's a lot of great discussion to be had!

10-06-2005, 10:25 AM
Welcome to the forum!

For questions like this, you may get better answers in the Probability forum.
Second of all, I don't think the odds of this really matters, since the cards are reshuffled every hand and you can't use this mathematical value to predict what your opponents cards will be. My best response would be: Don't worry about it.

10-06-2005, 10:34 AM
Damn. I missed that forum. Are there mods around that can move threads, or am I stuck?

I'm not really "worried" about it. With cards like he was hitting, the dude deserved to win, and I was happy to squeak into 2nd thanks to 2 others not so smart play.