PDA

View Full Version : Overcoming the fear of moving up

Pog0
10-06-2005, 02:03 AM
I've been playing poker for a "living" for the past 4 months. Well, by for a living I mean I'm a university student, playing poker part time, ~50 hours/mo, making much more than any of my peers could dream of making in a retail job. So I'm positive I'm a winning player, I keep track of my results, and am beating my game sufficiently well (>1.5bb/100) over 50k hands 7-10 tabling, but whenever I were to take a shot at the next level, I'd be reluctant. I noticed I was playing differently there, and I would put more emphasis on my decisions on the 2 tables of the higher limit.

So why the nerves about the higher level? Firstly, I am not certain I am a winning player there (although fairly confident I would be), last time I was running well and took a shot, I ended up down 100BB and negative about my future prospects.

So in September, I played 95% at my current level, and 5% at the higher level, and I turned a profit (allbeit over only 1000 hands) in the higher level. I was still reluctant to get into it at the time because of the reasons stated above.

I took five days off near the end of this month (I didn't plan for it, but it just worked out that way), and during that time I decided that when I come back, I'll just join the waiting list for the higher level and take a long enough stab at it to determine whether or not it's a profitable move.

First hand I'm dealt 77 in the BB, two limpers, I raise (so I know I'm not playing scared money), flop T73, I bet/3bet, both are coming along for the ride. Turn T, I bet/3bet again. River 2, I bet, and they call. I take it down vs 33 and KT. Not the kind of nervewracking affair I was looking for, but a few minutes later, I'm calm, collected, and seeing all money in the form of bets rather than $.