PDA

View Full Version : Living on your own for the first time

Warik
10-05-2005, 06:42 PM
Been thinking about this for a bit ever since I turned 24 a few weeks ago. Been living at home all my life, even through college. When do you all think is the "right" time to get your own place and start off on your own? Do you feel it gets done "for a reason" like college, a job, moving in with a girlfriend, etc... or is there just a time in your life when you feel it's "right."

I dunno... I mean, I have a degree, a great paying job (and the qualifications to get another in relatively short order if need be), money saved up, good credit, no debts... I feel as though I've already "finished" this stage of life and there's nothing more for me to accomplish here. I have friends who have moved out long ago and some older than me who still live at home (who I don't want to end up like). I'm just afraid that I might be missing out on a lot that I can't experience living at home.

Thing is, I love living at home. Don't feel oppressed, great relationship with family, and all this food and clean clothes that appear magically is a real plus, but I know I won't be here forever. When else would I move out? When I get married and find myself completely unable to cope with these new responsibilities since I've never had a taste of what it's like to be away from the nest?

"Hey mom and dad, I'm thinking of moving out. Why? Oh no reason... I love it here, I just feel that 'it is time' ???"

I don't know... what do those of you who had similar experiences think? How was it like for you?

(fyi: yes, I've already CKM and decided it wasn't the best solution. As for SIIHP, it's in the works. Looking for other alternatives.)

JihadOnTheRiver
10-05-2005, 06:49 PM
[ QUOTE ]
turned 24

[/ QUOTE ]

[ QUOTE ]
When do you all think is the "right" time to get your own place

[/ QUOTE ]

6 years ago bro

imported_anacardo
10-05-2005, 06:49 PM
[ QUOTE ]
[ QUOTE ]
turned 24

[/ QUOTE ]

[ QUOTE ]