PDA

View Full Version : Omaha Hi Rebuy tourney this week - some questions

Peter Harris
10-04-2005, 04:06 PM
Hi there,
I am new to Omaha Hi, having played some 8, but i'm mostly a HE guy. I will be playing a wee rebuy tourney this week for no more than $20 (ooooooh), against people who will have *no* idea how to play Omaha. So, i want to make sure i maximise my edge against them.

I predict there will be a LOT of preflop limping, which will increase implied odds for hands like [3 /images/graemlins/heart.gif 3 /images/graemlins/diamond.gif T /images/graemlins/spade.gif 8 /images/graemlins/spade.gif] in MP/LP that i may consider tossing in a normal game. Does this make sense?

Another hand i'd muck (knowing little about PLO) normally would be doublesuited one gappers like [T /images/graemlins/club.gif 8 /images/graemlins/diamond.gif 6 /images/graemlins/club.gif 4 /images/graemlins/diamond.gif] - are these playable against loose-passive preflop players?

Most will bet pots or check afterwards too, so it should be straightforward. My biggest fear will be playing too tight in the first hour rebuy stage where i could be opening up and looking to hit big and build a stack.

I have a "system" (crap but more than other players have /images/graemlins/smile.gif) which i'll use to feel my way around, but thanks to O8 i have a bit of nouse around omaha hi.

Any comments on the above "loosening up" and implied odds, or ideas on how to maximise my edge would be great. Apologies for being vague, but hell, it's my first time playing Hi.

Regards,
Pete Harris

Spellmen
10-04-2005, 08:00 PM
I would never play something like 33T8. You are begging to be killed by a bigger set, and the only other things going for it are a bad flush draw and making a straight that can't improve much

TheSalche
10-05-2005, 02:06 AM