PDA

View Full Version : just another TEX POST (no hand content) (overall game ability)

10-04-2005, 01:00 PM
When I started playing poker, I started playing NL games with friends around a kitchen table, and graduated into a live 5-10 limit game that was truly something amazing. The very first time I played 5-10 limit in Dallas, I got up 100BB's at one point, and I really couldnt play very well in contrast to now. But the point is that the game was faster than greased lightning. Quickly, after beating the game for about three weeks, I jumped head first into the 15-30 at the same place. That was about a 10K apprenticeship. It took three months and 10k dollars and about forty hours a week before I could claim any understanding of the game. Light years later, I started playing omaha online, and then I started playing 7-Stud. When I spent an entire summer playing 15-30 O8B, I really improved my overall game. It taught me things that hold'em didn't. I really felt like it gave me an edge over a player on the same level as I was that had never played omaha. When I started playing stud, I started at the 2-4 level, because I had no idea how to play. I still dont play well, but I have come away from 7 stud with a better ability to read hands and read players. I think that you have to be very observant to be an excellent stud player. (of course this applies to all forms of poker, but more so in stud)

For the longest time I never ventured outside the realm of 15-30 limit hold'em. But since I've played the various games like omaha, O8B, stud, and NL hold'em, i really feel like it has given me an edge that other players might not have, or even realize is available.

I guess it's similar to an athlete cross training, or how reading Poe or Hawthorne will increase your vocabulary indirectly.

Any comments?

NLSoldier
10-04-2005, 01:05 PM
[ QUOTE ]
just another TEX POST (no hand content) (overall game ability)

[/ QUOTE ]