PDA

View Full Version : How Volatile is Party 2/4 Hold'EM

10-04-2005, 12:55 PM
Okay here's the deal. I am relatively new to online poker and poker in general. I have read TOP, Lee Jones' Low Limit Hold'Em, and SSHE. I am currently re-reading SSHE. I consider myself to be a better than average newbie because of my background in blackjack (successful cardcounting for the past 3 years). I understand variance, risk of ruin, and more importantly discipline. I have read that 300 BB is a relatively standard bank for a reasonable risk of ruin, 500 is even better. I have purchased PT and Playerview, I have logged about 6000 hands (and I realize that is statistically insignificant). I am presently down 100 BB. Assuming I am at least halfway decent, is being down 100 BB in 6000 hands reasonable. Is it maybe a couple Standard Deviation negative swing or do I just suck.

Thanks for the help,
-Shaggy

sy_or_bust
10-04-2005, 01:01 PM
Perfectly reasonable. You cannot conclude anything from 6000 hands, as you suspect. This is also a good time to analyze your play, as it is more likely that you are making mistakes you can correct. Post hands.

mtdoak
10-04-2005, 01:02 PM
100 BB downswings are part of the buisness and not uncommon. 6k hands really isn't a large sample space to determine much. Your game may have glaring leaks, and I suspect you probably have spotted a few. That being said, if you feel you are playing well and the downswing hasn't affected you to the point where your tilting, you should just play through it. Running bad happens. Downswings can go up to 200-300 BB or in extreme cases, I've heard of as much as 500 BB downswings.

krimson
10-04-2005, 01:05 PM
This swing is definitely within variance.

However, statistcally speaking, it's now more likely that you are a losing player than a winning one, even if this is not yet a "significant" assessment. So make sure you don't just shrug off a loss to variance when you're potentially leaking like crazy.

MainEvent