PDA

View Full Version : Give me an ace, give me a king, preferably suited

Nemo
05-20-2003, 05:08 AM
Good day everyone. I am a little hazy on AK and AKs. I understand their benefits...you can flop top pair and be unafraid of a kicker. But, how far should one take these hands? If it comes down to heads up, and the flop comes rainbow with no help to your A or K, and your opponent bets, do you stick around for the last 2 rounds, or just give it up? I've been having trouble figuring out just how to play these hands. They confuse me because they require help on the flop, whereas pocket 10s, usually considered a marginal hand, can win if the board stays relatively low. I know that there are approximately six million things I'm not considering, but if people would be so kind as to point out a few of them to me, I'd greatly appreciate it. Also, I think it could lead to some quality discussion.

Best,

Nemo

WiredPair
05-20-2003, 09:08 AM
I'm still a newbie, but I will say that I think AK (suited or not) is one of the hands that people struggle playing the most. A lot I think depends on how many opponents see the flop and whether you caught any of it.

In your example, you say it is a rainbow flop, you are heads-up and your opponent bets. I further assume "no help" means no backdoor flush/straight draws, etc. I will also assume that you raised the flop with AK. If all of this is true, I don't think you're giving up much folding most of the time. If you showed strength pre-flop and your opponent still bets into you (assuming you have position on him and he bets out in front of you) he's telling you he's got something. The pot also isn't giving you any odds to stay and chase your overcards if its heads-up on the flop. Sit this one out and wait for the next hand.