PDA

View Full Version : my upper-level course in mid-high stakes NLHE

McStinky
10-03-2005, 10:00 PM
I was in school forever (bachelors, masters, PhD), and just finished. I have been playing poker for a couple years and gradually have been taking it more seriously. I have been very successful in school, and OK in poker but not killing it like I thought I would. So it's time to go to class. Here is the course description for my imaginary class in mid-high stakes NLHE.

------------------------------
Course Name: Mid-High NLHE 401

Course Goals: To prepare students to crush 10/20NL on Party.

Prerequisites: mathematical maturity, tiltlessness (let's pretend this is possible), knowledge of proper bankroll management, many hours of experience playing, understanding of the main concepts in the good poker books

Quizzes: For daily quiz, go through all new hands posted on the forum. Decide how you would play the hand within 30 seconds. Next, think for a few minutes and see if you are still happy with your original decision. Finally, look at the "answers". After the quiz, record the new things you learned.

Homework: Play sessions and record the hands you are unsure about. Post key hands to the message board. Also, find a study partner at the same level and quiz each other on the key hands from each session.

Course Project: Make a list of the most interesting hands you have ever read about on message boards, in articles, or wherever. Explain what makes them so interesting, from a strategic point of view.
------------------------------

The point of all this is to develop a more systematic way of reaching an advanced level. Although the psychological stuff is important, the focus here is on refining strategy. Notice that it is very focused on individual hands, which I think is a weakness. I think there needs to be more on preflop play and frequencies and stuff, but I can't see how to do that systematically. Maybe PokerTracker should come into play there?