PDA

View Full Version : How strong is Wilson Turbo computer players?

10-03-2005, 09:34 PM
Anyone has experience with Wilson turbo holdem computer players? Are they (expecially the advisors) very good or easily beatable?

XxGodJrxX
10-03-2005, 10:40 PM
You can download a demo of Wilson's program and see for yourself. I downloaded it once when I was an absolute beginner and thought it was all right at the time, but I would probably not agree with myself now that I am more experienced.

In my opinion though, the $90 would be put to better use "practicing" against real players online and buying books that will help your game.

Fishing
10-04-2005, 01:28 PM
I have used TTH for a couple of years. In my opinion, the strong points are not the quality of opponents but the ability to configure for specialized practice.

For example, I am currently practicing reading hands. I have configured TTH to play starting hands only and have selected a couple of groups of players with a mix of tight and loose that is close to what I play against. I play a hand, concentrating on reading opponents only and don't worry about winning or loosing, just reading. At the end you can peek at all hands to see if you were correct. I even do this in one window while playing 2 or 3 5/10 tables at Party. Last month, I froze the button on the blinds and practiced blind play only.

Don't expect TTH to be like real play against real opponents but it is a good practice tool.

10-04-2005, 04:59 PM
I'll echo the value in practicing against certain types of opponents.

I will say, the challenges against the advisor are still damn hard, particularly when I try short handed. I tend to beat it, but not by much and not more than 60% of the time. I can safely say TTH took me from losing to winning. Improving on that to become competent has been a journey of more steps (TTH, ToP, lots of play time, posts here, etc).

12AX7
10-05-2005, 11:26 PM