PDA

View Full Version : How do I buy a car?

JoshuaD
09-30-2005, 11:38 PM
My jeep just blew up, and I know jack and [censored] about cars, so I'm just gonna give you guys as much information as I can, and hopefully I'll get some good advice.

It's not worth repairing the jeep.

I've got about $5000 cash on hand that I can spend on the car. I play poker for a living, so I'd kinda like to avoid monthly payments, but it's not a big deal if I get them -- I'm already living in an apartment and paying my monthly bills with my poker winnings.

I don't know if I should be leasing or buying. Generally, what are the pros and cons of each?

I have no idea what model I should be getting. I've been eyeing Hyundai and Toyota just becuase I hear they last for a long time, but that's about as much as I know.

I don't know if I should be buying used or new.

I really don't know anything. I'm dumb when it comes to cars. Someone plz help. /images/graemlins/frown.gif

edit: Function is much more important to me than form. It'd be nice if the thing looked nice, but I'm not gonna pay extra to make it look that way. I want something that I can depend on, and if I'm buying, something that will last a while with minimal headache.

Eurotrash
09-30-2005, 11:41 PM
ask jason_t.

Shoe
09-30-2005, 11:52 PM
Buy. Do not lease.

You should be able to find a reliable car around 5k. Buy a sunday paper and look through the transportation section (or whatever it is called in your town), and look for cars you think you would like in your price range.

Go to kelly blue book (kbb.com) to get a good idea of what the car is actually worth for negotians.

That's about all i know, hope it helps.

jason_t
10-01-2005, 12:00 AM
[ QUOTE ]
ask jason_t.

[/ QUOTE ]

We talked over AIM.

JoshuaD
10-01-2005, 12:11 AM
[ QUOTE ]
[ QUOTE ]
ask jason_t.

[/ QUOTE ]

We talked over AIM.

[/ QUOTE ]

Jason_T convinced me pretty good to buy either a new civic or a slightly used civic. Anyone think that's a bad idea?

Isura