PDA

View Full Version : Linux teacher is getting on my nerve...

09-28-2005, 01:12 PM
Hi everyone,

Well I'm studying in computer programming...part of that involve a class where we are suppose to learn about OS. I was pleasantly surprise when I learned on day 1 that we were going to study Linux as the main OS.

I've always wanted to learn Linux in detail and have Gentoo installed and use it whenever I can to learn. I'm no expert so I figured I would stay in the classes to LEARN.

Turn out my teacher is a wacko, so to speak. The guy is quite knowledgeable but I'm considering making a complaint.

Here's an example that happened today with me arguing with him (not the first time)

We had an assigment, one question was:

How to create the file called lshelp.txt?
My answer : touch lshelp.txt

Now the previous question was what problem do we have when we use ls --help.
My answer : too much data for one screen.

Now according to him I was suppose to assume that the answer to "How to create the file called lshelp.txt?" was :
ls --help > lshelp.txt

I argued with him and he refused to give me my points saying I was suppose to know what he meant...I mean common! I knew what he meant, however I've answered what was asked in the question.

What do you think? am I right? I know this isn't really related to Linux per se but I figured this would be the only forum understanding the commands involved /images/graemlins/smile.gif

Thanks for the input.

StevieG
09-28-2005, 01:47 PM
Based on this information it seems you answered the question correctly.

Without seeing the entire assignment it is tough to tell if it is reasonable for you to infer what he meant.

09-28-2005, 01:59 PM
Yeah to me I've answered correctly too...to him no. The assignment didn't include any specific instruction as to question being related to each other, they were each numbered from 1 to 17...he refused explaining why I was wrong beside repeating that I was wrong over and over...man he's an ass.

StevieG