PDA

View Full Version : When to go pro?

09-26-2005, 01:14 PM
I have been playing poker for a few years and dedicated myself to sng play for the last 10 months. I really hate my job and envy all you sng pros. I have now played over 2000 sngs and I am a little disapointed with the results, but I feel that I have plugged some leaks and gotten better and my actual results will be better in the future.
Results:
10's:
Played:1,222
Profit: $1563
ROI: 11.6%

20's:
played:788
Profit: $1218
ROI: 7%

Total SnG's played: 2010
Total Profit: $2,781
Total ROI: 9%
Rakeback: $193
Total ROI w/rakeback: 9.6%

My wish is to now move up to the 33's. I would 6 table for 8 hrs a day 5 days a week. If i can maitain even a small 5% ROI plus rakeback I will make around $3,600 a month. That is much more than the $12 an hour I now make at my current job.
I also have 20k in credit limit on credit cards wich would enable me to get by 1st few mnths if things go bad.

runner4life7
09-26-2005, 01:20 PM
First, dont rely on credit, bad idea.

Second, I would stay at the 20s for a while and try and fix some leaks. 7% isnt great, but its positive and thats always good /images/graemlins/smile.gif, but the 30s are a step up so make sure you are ready for it. I've actually stayed at the 20s lately because I've found them to be much easier.

Degen
09-26-2005, 01:22 PM
[ QUOTE ]
Should I quit my job and play SnG's for a living?

[/ QUOTE ]

if you have to ask, the answer is no

quit your job only when it is costing you an obscene amount of money not to

also consider the non-financial ramifications...if you have some time check the first couple weeks of my blog (link in my profile) to see how bad it can get mentally

also get the new card player...thomas keller wrote an absolutely fantastic article (not yet up online, i tried to find the link) that is DEAD ON in every way about some of the drawbacks of playing for a living...bottom line, it is not as glamorous as you may think

the_joker