PDA

View Full Version : A session of terrible play, the goobers got me down.

steamboatin
09-26-2005, 11:56 AM
One of the most difficult things for me is to stay on my "A" game while watching junk hands drag huge pots.

Playing live is a much slower pace and it often can be a long time between playable hands and after hours of watching some of the stupidest draws and plays of my life and getting outdrawn without mercy, I sometimes begin to play stupid also.

Stupidity is highly contagious.

Playing $6-12 last night, I started out down and remained down the entire evening. About eight hours into the session, I was holding even about $150 down and for no justifiable reason, I started drawing and chasing crap just like the fish. Of course it goes without saying that this is exactly how not to play against Goobers and I end up down almost $400.

I get up and go smoke a cigar and think about why am I playing stupid when I know better and am I able to get my act together or should I just leave? I put $40 in a 2 cent slot machine and it pays out $250. All the sudden, I am no longer on tilt. I return to the table and to sanity. I recoup my losses except for $47 and on the last hand of the evening before they close to move to the new poker room, I get AK on the button. I raise, the BB reraises, one caller and I just call (normally would cap but didn't). Flop comes K high, I bet all the way to the river and the BB raises and turns over JT suited for a gutshot straight on the river. Down $86 over eleven hours of poker but my Jedi Slot Machine skills put me up for the session.

Early in the session, I had to guard against laughing out loud at some of the plays I saw but later on, I let it get to me and even though I know better, it is still a part of my game that needs work. ( I didn't berate the fish because that is bad for the game and just plain rude but I did let it influence my decisions and that is bad poker.)